濫用藥物

吸食危害精神毒品

危害精神毒品指一些用於影響腦部功能的化學物質:當中有部份是天然產物,再經提煉而成,例如可卡因;有部份則是人工合成,用作醫療用途,如鎮靜劑;也有一些由人工合成,但卻完全沒有醫療用途的,例如合成大麻(K2)、4-甲基甲基卡西酮(mephedrone)。

這些化學物質可以改變使用者的五官感覺、認知和判斷能力、意識、情緒和行為等。使用者往往透過持續追求這些感覺和情緒,而成為毒品的依賴者。他們會對毒品產生巨大的渴求感覺,甚至在毒品使用量上逐漸地增加,在沒有毒品補充時,出現身體不適和煩躁不安等的脫癮徵狀;儘管毒品損害身體健康、家庭關係、工作和經濟,甚至導致犯法的行為,仍然繼續沉迷於毒品之中。

吸食危害精神毒品的影響

吸食危害精神毒品不但對身體造成嚴重損害,同時會危害家庭和工作。而且吸食和藏有危害精神毒品,是刑事罪行。

近期香港常被使用的毒品有K仔(氯胺酮)、冰毒、可卡因和鎮靜劑等等,我們在此簡單介紹它們的影響。

  • 氯胺酮,俗稱K仔,醫學上用作麻醉用途。長期誤用會產生強烈的心理依賴,並會對膀胱、腎臟和腦部構成嚴重損害。
  • 冰毒,屬於興奮劑,長期使用會產生中毒性精神病、抑鬱、心臟和腎臟衰竭、腦部嚴重損害,或會引致即時死亡。
  • 鎮靜劑(白瓜子、藍精靈等),有部份鎮靜劑是醫生常用的處方藥物。但是部份使用者會不依照醫生的處方,服用超出處方份量和次數,而最終變成藥物依賴。長期使用會出現成癮、抑鬱、失憶、多疑、認知和神經訊息傳遞功能受損等。
在適當的醫療和心理輔導下,有助當事人面對毒品問題,重新過新生活。如果你或親友正面對吸食危害精神毒品的問題,應該儘快求助,請立即致電「心瑜軒」多重成癮專線 2827 1000 ,與輔導員聯絡。

Drug Addiction

Psychotropic Substance Abuse and Dependence

Psychotropic substance is a chemical substance that acts on the central nervous system and alters brain functioning. It consists of natural or synthetic products. Some psychotropic substances are produced naturally and adopted for medical use, such as cocaine, while some psychotropic substances are produced synthetically from chemicals without medical purpose, such as K2 and mephedrone.

The impacts of psychotropic substance abuse and dependence

Chemical substances can alter the user’s senses, cognition, perception, consciousness, mood and behavior. The user may pursue the enjoyment experienced from these alterations resulting in addiction. Some of the characteristics of substance abuse and dependence include intense craving, tolerance, withdrawal, continuous use despite negative consequences, impairments of health, social relationships and work performance. Moreover, supply, trafficking, possession and use of illegal psychotropic substances are strictly prohibited in Hong Kong.

Some popular psychotropic substances in Hong Kong

  • Ketamine (street name “k”) is a dissociative anesthetic. It is mostly used in veterinary practice. Long-term use of ketamine results in strong psychological dependence, urinary bladder and kidney inflammation as well as brain impairment.
  • Methamphetamine, also known as “ice”, is a central nervous system stimulant. Long-term use of “ice” causes drug induced psychosis, heart and kidney failure, brain impairment and “meth-mouth”.
  • Cocaine is a central nervous system stimulant. Long-term use results in drug induced psychosis, increased risk of stroke and heart infarction that may cause sudden death.
  • Hypnotics, such as Valium, Triazolam, Midazolam, are prescriptions. However, some users may misuse the medicines by taking a higher or more frequent dosage, resulting in dependence. Long-term use may result in psychological dependence, depression, amnesia and cognition impairment.    

 

With appropriate medical treatment, counseling and support from family and friends, people with psychotropic substance use can resume a healthy and meaningful life.
Treatment and diagnosis of psychotropic substance abuse and dependence should be provided by professional practitioners. If you suspect yourself, your partner, your family member or your friend having psychotropic substance abuse or dependence, please call our hotline on 2827 1000.