酗酒

酒精依赖

有人会饮用酒精作解闷或安眠用途,或在喜庆场合作祝贺之用。酒精在药理上属於抑郁剂,如果大量饮用,或恒常地饮用,便有有可能出现酒精滥用,甚至成为酒精依赖。酒精依赖是一种成瘾疾病,往往对酒精依赖者构成心理、身体及社会功能上的损害。

酒精依赖通常有以下四种病徵:
1. 渴 求 感:对酒精有强烈的需要和渴求的感觉
2. 失去自控:一开始饮酒便不能停止
3. 产生耐受性:逐渐地需要饮更多酒精才能达到期望的效果
4. 身体依赖:停止饮酒时会出现脱瘾徵状,如恶心、盗汗、身体或手部颤抖、焦虑不安等感觉

酒精依赖的影响

患有酒精依赖的人士会将饮酒放在生活上的首要位置,因而牺牲了余闲时间,未能履行家庭的责任,甚至影响了正常的工作。酒精也可能令到脑部、肝脏、胃部等出现严重问题,也可能会出现失忆、失眠等情况。部份酒精依赖者尽管未出现严重的身体依赖情况,但也可能常常因酒後失控而受伤,或犯上刑事罪行(如酒後驾驶)等情况。

很多患上酒精依赖的人士,在接受适当的医疗服务及心理辅导後,情况会有明显的改善。如果怀疑自己或亲友面对酒精依赖的情况,请立即致电「心瑜轩」多重成瘾专线 2827 1000 ,与本中心联络。

Alcohol Addiction

Alcohol Abuse and Dependence

Alcohol has been used for thousands of years and is one of the oldest and most commonly abused psychotropic substances in the world. When it is used in excess and in a prolong period of time, it may cause alcohol abuse or dependence that may cause physical and psychological harms to the person.

Alcohol dependence has the following characteristics:
1. Craving: strong desire to drink
2. Losing control: being unable to stop once started
3. Withdrawal: group of symptoms such as nausea, sweating, shaking, tremors, feeling anxious
that occur when the person try to stop or decrease the amount of drinking
4. Tolerance: a need to drink greater amounts of alcohol progressively in order to reach the same effect

The Impact of Alcohol Abuse and Dependence

People with alcohol abuse and dependence spend considerable time on drinking that led to relinquishment of personal interests, and neglect of family and work. Heavy consumption in alcohol is harmful to the brain, liver and stomach that may further lead to memory loss or blackout, chronic insomnia, cirrhosis and chronic gastritis. Moreover, people who suffer from alcohol abuse and dependence may encounter injuries or engage in criminal activities, such as drink driving.

Most people with alcohol abuse and dependence resume quality lives after receiving medical treatment and psychotherapies.
Formal diagnosis and treatment should be provided by professional practitioners. If you suspect yourself, your partner, your family member, or your friend having alcohol dependence, please call our hotline on 2827 1000.