吸烟成瘾

尼古丁依赖

香烟的主要成份为尼古丁,焦油及一氧化碳。烟草内常混合添加剂, 产生的烟油被吸入肺部时会在肺泡中吸收。烟草中的尼古丁,一经吸收就会在少於7秒内迅速被血液运送至脑部,刺激特定的脑细胞长出对尼古丁敏感度较高的的受体。受体与尼古丁结合後,脑部的多巴胺分泌便会增加,令人产生快感和放松的感觉,吸烟量越多,受体增生的数目就越多。如果烟量减少了,与受体结合的尼古丁量也会减少,间接降低脑中的多巴胺,令人产生不舒服的感觉,产生要吸烟的慾望和冲动,形成依赖,最後就会因重复吸食而成瘾。

在戒烟的过程中,这些在脑部对尼古丁敏感特高的受体,会因为长时间没有接触尼古丁而减少,令戒烟人士在缺乏尼古丁刺激的情况下,多巴胺的分泌也不再受到干扰。然而,基於细胞本身记忆功能,当戒烟人士的脑细胞再接触到尼古丁时,在很短的时间内,这些受体又会再转化成以往的状态,极度需要尼古丁来维持稳定,於是烟瘾又会再次出现。

然而,戒烟後,身体会逐渐回复正常

  • 戒烟20分钟後 ─ 血压、心跳及脉博恢复至吸最後一支烟前的水平
  • 戒烟8小时後 ─ 血液中一氧化碳含量下调至正常
  • 戒烟48小时後 ─ 味觉嗅觉感应力回复
  • 戒烟2至4个星期後 ─ 循环系统改善,肺功能提升
  • 戒烟1至9个月後 ─ 咳嗽、呼吸短促的情况大大改善
  • 戒烟1年後 ─ 患上冠心病的机率比吸烟者低50%
  • 戒烟5年後 ─ 肺癌死亡率比吸烟者少50%
  • 戒烟10年後 ─ 肺癌死亡率大约等同一个非吸烟者
  • 戒烟15年後 ─ 患上冠心病的机率大约等同非吸烟者

吸烟成瘾的诊断及谘询必须由相关的专业人士进行,如你怀疑自己或亲友正面对吸烟成瘾的情况,请立即致电「心瑜轩」多重成瘾专线 2827 1000 ,与辅导员联络。

Tobacco Dependence

Nicotine Dependence

The main ingredients of a cigarette are nicotine, tar, carbon monoxide and more than 4000 chemicals. Burning a cigarette produces smoke that contains tar particles. Nicotine, once absorbed, is quickly transported by the blood to the brain within 7 seconds, stimulating certain brain cells to develop nicotine-sensitive receptors. When these receptors bind with nicotine, the release of dopamine in the brain increases, and pleasant, relaxing sensations are produced. The drop in nicotine intake will lower the dopamine level in the brain, producing different kinds of discomfort symptoms. Since smoking reduces the unpleasant symptoms, one gradually becomes dependent on cigarette smoking to release the withdrawal symptoms. Repetitive smoking of cigarettes eventually leads to addiction.

During smoking cessation, the nicotine-sensitive receptors in the brain decrease in number as a result of prolonged deprivation of nicotine, and the normal secretion of dopamine is no longer interfered with. However, when an ex-smoker is exposed to nicotine again, the nicotine receptors in the brain return to the previous state in a very short period of time. To maintain the stability of dopamine levels, nicotine intake is required and addiction is very likely to occur again.

However, after successful smoking cessation, the body state gradually returns to normal:

  • 20 minutes after cessation ─ blood pressure, heart rate and pulse return to the level observed before the last cigarette was smoked
  • 8 hours after cessation ─ blood carbon monoxide level decreases to normal
  • 48 hours after cessation ─ senses of taste and smell recover
  • 2-4 weeks after cessation ─ circulatory system and pulmonary functions improve
  • 1-9 months after cessation ─ conditions of coughing and shortness of breath largely improve
  • 1 year after cessation ─ the risk of coronary heart disease (CHD) is 50% lower than that of a smoker
  • 5 years after cessation ─ mortality rate of lung cancer is 50% lower than that of a smoker
  • 10 years after cessation ─ mortality rate of lung cancer approximately equals to that of a non-smoker
  • 15 years after cessation ─ the risk of CHD approximately equals to that of a non-smoker

Diagnosis and treatment should be provided by professional practitioners. If you suspect yourself, your partner, your family member or your friend having nicotine dependence, please call our hotline on 2827 1000.