病态赌博

病态赌博是指当事人的赌博行为已达到不能自我控制的状态,包括花长时间回想及计划下次的赌博活动,逐渐增加下注的金额,输钱後会出现强烈「追赌」的冲动,结果损失大量金钱,造成严重欠债,甚至会以欺诈的手法向家人朋友借贷,因而影响家庭关系、经济、工作、情绪和身体健康。除了一般的赌博活动,例如:赛马、赌波、赌场、赌船、打麻雀、六合彩等,赌徒亦可能沉迷网上赌博或炒卖有赌博成份的金融产品。

病态赌博的影响

赌博问题可以隐藏一段很长的时间。当发现赌徒在赌博中输了大量金钱或严重欠债,家人都很可能感到极度震惊。赌博问题引致的严重压力,会对赌徒本身及其家人造成精神健康问题,例如:焦虑、抑郁等;以及与压力相关的身体健康问题,如失眠、溃疡、排便困难、头痛和肌肉疼痛等。

病态赌博的成因

病态赌博的成因颇为复杂,例如:大部份的病态赌徒都抱有一些错误的信念,如继续赌的话,可以赢回已经输掉的金钱;或除了继续赌博之外,没有其他方法去解决现有的财务及其他个人或家庭问题。其他因素还有:受父母、家庭成员、朋辈或社会文化的影响;或者曾经赢过很多钱,而追求再赢的兴奋;或者希望藉赌博赢钱增强自信心;又或缺乏其他娱乐或生活目标及意义等。很多人可以从赌博成瘾中康复,只要耐心和努力,透过辅导和心理治疗,赌徒及其家人可以共同找出引致成瘾的根源,重建健康的生活及改善家庭关系。

病态赌博的诊断及谘询必须由相关的专业人士进行,如你怀疑自己或亲友正面对赌博成瘾的情况,请立即致电「心瑜轩」多重成瘾专线 2827 1000 ,与辅导员联络。

Pathological Gambling

Pathological gambling describes gambling behavior which causes disruption to an individual psychologically, physically, socially or vocationally. People with pathological gambling are characterized by loss of control, an inability to stop engaging in gambling behavior, preoccupation with gambling, a need to bet more money with higher frequency, “chasing” losses, and restlessness or irritability when attempting to stop gambling regardless of the disruption and serious consequences of such behavior.

The common gambling activities for people in Hong Kong are horse racing, soccer betting, mahjong, Mark Six, gambling on cruise ships or in Macau casinos. In recent decades, there is an increasing tendency for people to become addicted to stock speculation and online gambling activities. People with pathological gambling need to increase their amount of gambling and end up with serious financial problems. They may convince family members and friends to lend them money, which adversely affects their family and social relationships. Pathological gambling causes stress for gamblers, as well as family members, with the risk of developing depression, anxiety and other stress related health problems, such as insomnia, and headache. Pathological gambling may remain hidden for a long period of time. Family members are usually shocked when they discover serious financial problems as a result of gambling.

The Causes of Pathological Gambling

There are multiple causes of pathological gambling including psychosocial, cognitive, physiological and cultural factors. For instance, some gamblers believe that gambling is the fastest way to make money or the only way to settle their debt. Some other gamblers may seek the excitement and gain confidence from winning. Some of them may lack other interests and life goals so they adopted gambling as their only life goal. In many cases, people with pathological gambling can resume a healthy and balanced life when they receive adequate treatment and have support from family and friends.

Diagnosis and treatment should be provided by professional practitioners. If you suspect yourself, your partner, your family member, or your friend having gambling problem, please call our hotline on 2827 1000.