共生精神病

共生精神疾病(Comorbid Psychiatric Disorders),指患者除了患上物质或行为成瘾外,同时出现一种或以上的精神疾病,例如抑郁症、焦虑症、精神分裂症、适应障碍或性格障碍等。

过往的研究显示成瘾问题和共生精神疾病息息相关,成瘾问题对个人、家庭及社会均带来严重影响,如家庭冲突、债务、身体健康问题、犯法行为,甚至产生自杀念头,均导致极大精神上困扰,从而增加患上精神疾病的风险。另一方面,有共生精神疾病的患者亦可能透过成瘾行为,纾缓精神疾病带来的不适和困扰,造成一个恶性循环。

其中,抑郁症是常见的共生精神疾病,患者会出现以下徵状:

  • 持续出现抑郁情绪或情绪低落
  • 对一向感兴趣的事情提不起劲
  • 食慾突然增加或减少、或体重骤升或骤降
  • 持续失眠或很早醒来不能再睡
  • 无缘无故闹情绪,或感到沮丧
  • 常常感到疲倦乏力
  • 觉得自己很没用、或持续感到内疚或自责
  • 难以集中精神、或即使作简单的决定也感到困难
  • 重覆想到死亡或有自杀念头
确实的共生精神疾病诊断必须由相关的专业人士进行,如你怀疑自己或你的家人、朋友、或伴侣除了有成瘾问题外,持续出现上述症状,并显着地影响学业、工作、家庭或社交关系等,请立即致电 2827 1000 与本中心联络。

What is a comorbid psychiatric disorder?

A “comorbid psychiatric disorder” refers to an individual suffering from one or more psychiatric disorders apart from substance or behavioral addiction. Examples of comorbid psychiatric disorders are depression, anxiety disorder, schizophrenia, adjustment disorder or personality disorder.

Previous research indicates there is a close relationship between addiction and psychiatric disorders. Addiction can have a wide range of adverse effects on individuals, families, and society. The negative consequences including family conflict, financial and debt problems, physical and mental health problems, criminal behavior, as well as suicidal ideation or attempts, cause severe emotional distress to individuals. This further increases the risk of developing psychiatric disorders. On the other hand, individuals with comorbid psychiatric disorders may adopt addictive behavior as a way of escaping from or coping with the emotional distress or psychiatric symptoms.

Generally, depression is a common comorbid psychiatric disorder. An individual who suffers from depression is likely to present the following symptoms:

  • depressed mood
  • marked diminished interest or pleasure in all activities
  • significant weight loss or gain, or increase or decrease in appetite
  • insomnia or hypersomnia
  • psychomotor agitation or retardation
  • fatigue or loss of energy
  • feelings of worthlessness or excessive or inappropriate guilt
  • diminished ability to think or concentrate, or indecisiveness
  • recurrent thoughts of death or suicidal ideation
Formal diagnosis of comorbid psychiatric disorders should be made by professional practitioners. If you suspect you, family members, friends or partners have the above symptoms other than addiction which causes you or them impairment in academic performance, work, family or social relationship, please do not hesitate to seek help by calling us on 2827 1000.