消费成瘾

大部份人消费购物,是有目的、有计划地应付日常所需,或是负担能力以内的奢侈品。其实消费购物行为背後有很多象徵意义,它可能被用作为减压、转换情绪、自我奖励,或是获得自我价值与认同的方法。过度消费是指当事人的脑海里长期被购买念头所占据、难以抗拒消费冲动,消费行为主要由心理需要而非实际需要所主导,甚至因此而出现情绪、社交、工作或经济等问题。

过度消费者常见有以下特徵:

  • 喜欢独自消费
  • 消费物品往往并非必需品
  • 消费时间往往比预算的长
  • 消费时感到忘我及情绪高涨
  • 每当感到不快、失望、愤怒等负面情绪时特别容易出现消费冲动
  • 消费後会出现内疚情绪,但仍会继续
  • 向别人隐瞒消费内容及金额
  • 明知消费金额超出个人能力范围但仍难以停止消费

消费成瘾的过程及影响

购物过程可能会为消费成瘾者带来快感及控制感,而且过度消费者主要依赖消费购物作为获取这些正面情绪的单一途径,又或是用以发泄情绪或逃避问题。研究显示,部份消费成瘾者同时患有情绪病、药物滥用或暴食的问题。当成瘾行为越来越严重时,那些正面回报便会越来越短暂,取而代之便是负面情绪,如内疚、後悔、情绪低落等。亦可能会为了延长及获得更大的满足感而进行更极端及频密的消费行为,严重影响个人情绪、人际及家庭关系、工作及财政状况等。常见的影响是当事人因过度签账而出现债务问题,而为了偿还债务,以欺诈手法向家人及朋友借贷,使朋友及家人对其失去信心,导致关系破裂。另又可能因担心债务问题而出现焦虑、抑郁情绪,直接影响当事人的工作表现或学业,更可能形成恶性循环,影响深远。

消费成瘾诊断及谘询必须由相关的专业人士进行,如果你怀疑自己或家人、朋友有消费成瘾的迹象,请立即致电「心瑜轩」多重成瘾专线 2827 1000 ,与本中心联络。

Spending Addiction

Shopping for most people is a purposeful or planned behavior to meet their daily needs, or a kind of affordable luxury. However, there are many symbolic meanings behind the buying behavior such as relief from stress, emotion regulations, and recognition on oneself. Compulsive buying happens when an individual is preoccupied with shopping and spending for an extended period of time, and finds it difficult to resist the spending impulse. The spending pattern is mainly driven by psychological needs rather than actual needs resulting in social, occupational and financial problems.

Common characteristics of people who engage in compulsive buying:

  • Feel compelled to go shopping
  • Buy things that are not needed or used
  • Spend longer time and larger amount than expected
  • Experience buying or spending binge followed by feeling sad, disappointed or angry
  • Repeated the buying or spending behavior despite feeling quilty or negative consequences
  • Deceptive about the spending behavior and amount spent

The progression of addiction and its effects

Most people retain a sense of control in shopping or spending. However, some tend to rely on shopping to obtain a boost, or use it to relieve stress or avoid problems. International studies show that some people with compulsive buying problems also suffer from mood disorders, substance abuse or bulimia nervosa. When the addictive behavior becomes prolonged and severe, the short-term rewarding effect may be replaced by negative emotions, such as guilt, remorse and self-loathing. An individual may need to increase the frequency and intensity of shopping in order to maintain the same rewarding effect that create further impairment to the person’s life such as financial and debt problems, damage family and interpersonal relationships, anxiety or depressive mood, decline in work or study performance, etc.

Diagnosis and treatment should be provided by professional practitioners. If you suspect yourself, your partner, your family member, or your friend having compulsive buying behavior, please call our hotline on 2827 1000.